- Free Essays, Term Papers & Book Notes

5 Pillars of Islam and 3 Types of Muslims

By:   •  Essay  •  818 Words  •  January 26, 2010  •  2,232 Views

Page 1 of 4

Join now to read essay 5 Pillars of Islam and 3 Types of Muslims

Islamic Traditions

The Muslim concept of worship is very broad. Muslims consider everything they do in this life according to Allah’s will, an act of worship. Worship of Allah is foremost in a Muslim’s mind all the time. There are also five formal acts of worship which help strengthen a Muslim’s faith and obedience that are referred to as the Five Pillars of Islam.

The first of the five pillars is the testimony of faith called Shahadah. The statement is “Ashadu alla ilaha illa Allah, as ashadu anna Muhammad ar-rasool Allah,” which means “I bear witness that there is no God other than Allah, and I bear witness that Muhammad is His messenger” (Smith, 14). When one declares this statement, one testifies to the Unity of Allah, and to the message of the Prophethood. When one bears witness that Muhammad is His messenger, one is confirming that all of the prophets before him were also His messengers. A person becomes a Muslim once this statement is declared with purity of heart and conviction of heart.

The second pillar is the act of prayer called Salat. Formal prayer is the very important because it is “mankind’s connection to Allah through which on gathers strength, guidance, and peace of mind” (Norcliffe, 119). Muslims repeat and refresh their beliefs by taking time out of their day to remember Allah and renew their effort to follow His guidance five times a day: (1) Fajr-before sunrise, (2) Zuhr-after the sun begins to decline, (3) Asr-mid-afternoon, (4) Magrib-after sunset, and (5) Isha-night.

The third pillar is act of fasting called Sawm. Fasting is abstaining completely from eating, drinking, and intimate sexual contact from the break of dawn till sunset. This is a unique Islamic institution which teaches man the principle of sincere love and devotion to Allah.

"O you who believe! Fasting is prescribed for you, as it was prescribed for those before you, that you may learn self-restraint. Fast for a fixed number of days....Ramadan is the month in which was sent down the Quran, as a guide to mankind, and clear signs for guidance and judgment between right and wrong. So every one of you who is present at home during that month should spend it in fasting....Allah intends every facility for you; He does not want to put you to difficulties. He wants you to complete the prescribed period, and to glorify Him in that He has guided you; and perchance you shall be grateful."

(Quran 2:183-185)

The fourth pillar of Islam is the participation in almsgiving called Zakat. Charity giving is an act of worship and spiritual investment. This is a type of “institutionalized almsgiving which consists of two and a half percent of the Muslim’s total savings” (Norcliffe, 126). The money may be given to the poor or go towards furthering Islam. Zakat fosters in a Mulsim the quality of sacrifice and rids

Continue for 3 more pages »  •  Join now to read essay 5 Pillars of Islam and 3 Types of Muslims and other term papers or research documents
Download as (for upgraded members)