- Free Essays, Term Papers & Book Notes

Islam - the Five Pillars

By:   •  Essay  •  422 Words  •  March 1, 2010  •  1,137 Views

Page 1 of 2

Join now to read essay Islam - the Five Pillars

The five pillars

The Five Pillars of Islam are the structure of Muslim religion. They are the testimony of faith, prayer, giving, fasting during the month of Ramadan, and if you are lucky the pilgrimage to Makkah once in a lifetime.

The first pillar, entitled the testament of faith, exploits the Belief in one God, Allah, whom constitutes the very foundation of Islam. Prayer is the next pillar of Islam. Prayers do not take more than five minutes and are required five times daily. In prayer, a person feels inner happiness, peace, and a direct connection between the worshipper and Allah. Giving Zakat, other known as supporting the needy, is the third pillar of Islam. Initially, Zakat was the issue that altered Muhammad’s views of the world and turned him into a political figure. Fasting for the month of Ramadan is the fourth pillar of Islam. Even the Quran states, "O you who believe fasting is prescribed to you as it was prescribed to those before you so that you can learn Taqwa" (Quran 2:183). Ramadan consists of fasting from dawn until sundown while concurrently abstaining from food, drink, and sexual contact. Finally, the pilgrimage to Mecca is the last pillar.

Although these conditions seem intense, there are actually many benefits to these submitters. The temptations of the world seem to erase our understanding for religion and g-d. Fasting will remind you of what has been handed down to us. Ramadan can draw one closer

Continue for 1 more page »  •  Join now to read essay Islam - the Five Pillars and other term papers or research documents
Download as (for upgraded members)